BrittanyMakes

  • High Point Market Fall 2017 – What’s the trend

    Design Bloggers Tour Fall 2017: Kristie Barnett, The Decorologist | Cecillia Cannon, Home with Keki | Deborah von Donop, dvd Design | Cheryl Kees Clendenon, In Detail Interiors | Courtney, French Country Cottage | Lori Dennis, Lori Dennis, IncJana Platina Phipps, Trim QueenAnn SageSarah Walker, The Curated House

    I can’t believe it’s been nearly 6 weeks since my trip to High Point Market for the Design Bloggers Tour. Can you believe there’s already talk about attending the next market in April? I’m already feeling a little bit of anxiety around booking travel and getting accommodations situated. People literally plan years in advance for their trips to High Point Market, I even heard rumors some of the best hotels are booked out for a few years!

    We attended dozens of showrooms, and there were a few, dare I say, trends, that were common among the products across many of the different brands and showrooms. I wanted to share with you the top 5 trends I identified, and how I believe they will be making themselves known in stores and homes very soon!

    Cerused/Rift Sawn Oak

    The cerused oak trend is in full force. Cerused oak is a treatment applied to rift sawn oak to whiten and fill in the heavy grain and, which warms the oak and makes it such a universal material used across nearly all decorating styles. Designers love it’s texture and natural feel, it reads casual and laid back. In my experience, California designers in particular love it as it reads coastal and cool without being quintessentially beachy.

    Upholstered Furniture Legs

    I’ve seen fully upholstered furniture legs before on vintage pieces of furniture, mainly chairs, and while I’ve liked the look I never really thought much of it. While we were at High Point Market, we design bloggers noticed this look was everywhere! We couldn’t pass a showroom without spotting a piece of furniture with fully upholstered legs. We loved how it drew the eye down to the floor for each piece, giving it a little extra flair that felt special and intentional. It was most noticeable on patterned pieces of furniture.

    High lacquered furniture

    Lacquered furniture isn’t by any means new to interiors, but I noticed it’s taken shape more in the form of subtle accent pieces in neutral colors, versus statement pieces in bold colors. I lost count of how many high lacquered white tables and dressers I saw at High Point Market. Pairing lacquered pieces with natural textures (like cerused oak!) seems to be a winning combination lately as well.

    Menswear Fabric Wrapped Accent Furniture

    Menswear fabrics, such as tweed , linen, flannel, are being used in ways I never imagined! I spotted more than a handful of furniture pieces, like coffee tables, console tables, etc, that were wrapped (not upholstered!) in menswear fabrics and I was so intrigued. The look gives texture, yet the piece remains sturdy and flat.

    Framed Vintage Textiles

    I’m sure you can guess how much I love this trend! It’s something I’ve been working on internally, to produce some framed textiles to offer in my shop. I even hacked my own version in my ORC reveal. AT High Point Market, I saw vintage scarves framed and hung as large scale statement art, vintage mudcloths, dyed indigo, just to name a few. The appeal to frame these items is it brings another layer of unique, one of a kind decor into a space. In my opinion, vintage and one of a kind pieces always helps a designer earn his or her trademark and identity, which we’ve seen through the use of rugs and pillows, but this relatively new idea to frame a vintage textile is one I can fully endorse, and is easily accessible with custom framing shops like Framebridge and Simply Framed.

    These were my 5 favorite trends at High Point Market which I would take home for myself. I’m eager to use cerused oak in our new home. Do you guys think you’ll see these trends in your homes anytime soon? Will any of these trends stick around for a while? or do you think they’re fleeting?

    Check out the other posts highlighting High Point Market!

    Check out the participating sponsors of the Design Bloggers Tour!

    – Bernhardt Furniture, www.bernhardt.com
    – Century Furniture, www.centuryfurniture.com
    – Crypton Home Fabric, www.cryptonhome.com
    – Duralee, www.duralee.com
    – Green Apple Home Style, www.greenapple.pt
    – Huntington House, www.huntingtonhouse.com
    – IMC – SALON, www.imchighpointmarket.com/salon
    – Lloyd Flanders Industries Inc., www.lloydflanders.com
    – Scott Living, www.scottlivinghome.com
    – Sunbrella, www.sunbrella.com
    – Theodore Alexander, www.theodorealexander.com
    – Tomlinson, www.tomlinsoncompanies.com
    – Universal Furniture, www.universalfurniture.com
    – Wexel Art Displays, www.wexelart.com
    – Younger Furniture, www.youngerfurniture.com

  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *